Pick a Flower

IMG_7285

Several weeks ago, we were in Greece on a field trip through some incredible ruins. The sun was shining and our professor was making the stories come to life in a way that got us all so excited. At the end of our tour, we were given 20 minutes to explore the site. I walked through the ancient city in ruins and saw a patch of adorable little yellow flowers. I smiled and walked past them but as soon as I did, I had a feeling to go back and pick some. I returned and found the cutest little nuggets and kept walking. On my way to the exit, I saw the cutest little Asian woman. We exchanged glances and she flashed the most beautiful smile. I realized that the extra flower I had picked was meant for her. We walked towards each other and she graciously accepted the little flower with so much joy and gratitude. She thanked me as if I had gifted her something so special. That 3 minute interaction made my entire day. Her smile and sincerity made me realize that I need to appreciate the little things more in my life. Christ taught His disciples, “And he saith unto them, Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.” It made me think of Christ and how he asks us to do the little things to follow Him. That joy we both felt by a simple flower was the fruits of a simple call to follow Him.

Leave a comment